FairTest Staff and Board

Robert Schaeffer

Robert A. (Bob) Schaeffer is FairTest's Interim Executive Director, and has served as Public Education Director of FairTest, the National Center for Fair & Open Testing, since its founding in 1985, and is a member of its Board of Directors. Previously, he was Editorial Writer at the NBC-TV affiliate in Boston, Research Director of the Massachusetts Legislature's Joint Committee on Human Services and Elderly Affairs, and worked for several years as a research associate at the Education Research Center of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he was both an undergraduate and graduate student. He is author of Standardized Tests and Teacher Competence (School Voices, Fall, 1996) and coauthor of Standing Up to the SAT (ARCO/Simon & Schuster, 1989). He has also coauthored many FairTest publications, including Testing Our Children: A Report Card on State Assessment Systems, Standardized Tests and Our Children: A Guide to Testing Reform, Implementing Performance Assessments, The SAT Coaching Cover-Up, Test Scores Do Not Equal Merit, and Sex Bias in College Admissions Tests: How Women Lose Out..

David Mirabella

David Mirabella works as the Office Manager and Program Associate at FairTest. David has been with FairTest since the year 2000. He also maintains FairTest's web site, design and desktop publishing needs, as well as day to day office operations.


Dr. Sophie Sa, Chair; Founding Executive Director (retired), Panasonic Foundation, Secaucus, NJ

Laura Barrett, Clerk; Communications Specialist, Massachusetts Teachers Association, Boston, MA;

Ann Cook; Executive Director, NY Standards Performance Consortium, New York, NY

Nikhil Goyal; Author and activist; Woodbury, NY

Deborah Meier; Founding principal, Central Park East (NYC) and Mission Hill (Boston) schools, Hillsdale, NY; Professor, New York University

Linda Nathan; Executive Director, Center for Artistry and Scholarship.

George Rosenfeld; History Professor, Bard Prison Initiative,New York, NY

Robert Schaeffer; President, Public Policy Communications, Sanibel, FL